



## The Newhaven and Seaford Sailing Club Ltd.

Club House, Marine Parade, Seaford East Sussex BN25 2QR Telephone: Seaford 01323 890077

MINUTES OF AN ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF NSSC LTD HELD ON 31st March 2023 at 19.00 hours.

Voting members attending: 56 representing 12.28% of the 456 total voting members at 31/3/23. Note: approximately 10 further voting members turned up after the meeting started.

Terry Jones chaired the meeting as Commodore.

Item 1. Apologies for absence received from: Andy Barns, Pete Burch, Richard Beal, Joanne Bruggenwirth, Phil Clare, Alan Cox, Dan Freeland, Denzil Jones, Gill Short, Allan Stevens, Charles Turnbull, Bill Giles, Simon Thomas.

Item 2. Minutes version B of the AGM held on 29<sup>th</sup> April 2022. Approval was proposed by Chris Turner and seconded by Sue Topp and passed by the meeting unanimously.

Item 3. Receive and adopt the Company Directors' Report and Financial Statement for Year Ending 31st December 2022. Approval was proposed by Mike Godwin and seconded by Judd Brammah and passed by the meeting unanimously.

Item 4. Election of the company's board of directors: No positions were contested so no elections required. The board will be:

- Commodore Terry Jones
- Vice Commodore Judd Brammah,
- Secretary Sheena Hindocha.
- Treasurer Ian Lambert
- Rear Commodore Piddinghoe Nick Blackburn
- Hon Sailing Secretary Pete Burch
- Directors: Neil Arnott, Phil Clare, Charlie Turnbull, Andrew Barns.
- Rear Commodore Seaford Vacant
- Rear Commodore Newhaven Vacant

Thanks were expressed to Duncan Barrows and Daniel Freeland who were standing down from the Board

## Item 5: AOB:

The proposal made by the Board to confer on Chris and Carolyn Turner life memberships in recognition of their work in establishing 'Sailability' at NSSC was passed unanimously.

The Board confirmed that they would be organising an Extraordinary General Meeting (EGM) during the year to discuss the options for the Seaford Clubhouse and confirm an agreed way forward.

Three members advised that it would be their intention to put forward proposals for this EGM:

- 1 Mike Godwin revision to the Quorum at General Meetings.
- 2. Mike Woolard expand the detail in the accounts presented to membership at AGM  $\,$
- 3. Zoe McCaig award NSSC Directors an exemption from membership fees in their year of office.

Following the formal AGM a short briefing was provided by Bill Wates about progress with establishing the status of the Seaford building structure and plans to provide temporary support until a longer term solution can be determined.

Two members gave quick updates to the meeting about local organisation's need for volunteers:

- a. RNLI crew to man their D class inflatable from Newhaven station: John Simcock
- b. NCI (National Coast watch Institution) crew at their Newhaven lookout: Steve Hinton

Ian Lambert, Company Secretary 2022

A company limited by guarantee and registered in England Registered No. 1290424

Affiliated to The Royal Yachting Association